Sheriff Tompkins, Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department Welcome 25 New Officers

Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department welcomes Adam Foss for 5th annual Paths to Employment
August 2, 2017
Sheriff’s Department Kicks Off Summer Enrichment Program 2017
August 14, 2017
Show all

Sheriff Tompkins, Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department Welcome 25 New Officers

The Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department recently welcomed twenty-five new officers into the corrections profession at the graduation ceremony held for Correction Officer Training Academy (COTA) Class 17-01.

Sheriff Tompkins, members of the Department and loved ones of the graduating officers gathered in the auditorium of Bunker Hill Community College to celebrate the momentous occasion. During his address, Sheriff Tompkins congratulated the new officers and welcomed them to their new place of employment at the Suffolk County Jail.

Graduates of COTA Class 17-01 completed an intensive 13-week instruction in subjects that included ethics and professionalism, suicide prevention, the use of force continuum, firearm safety and handling, inmate education and programming, contraband control, courtroom testimony, CORI and inmate rights and responsibilities, fire safety, CPR, sexual harassment, cross-gender supervision and report writing, among a host of others.

Following the swearing–in ceremony for his fellow new officers, COTA 17–01 Class President Jonathan Mendez took to the podium to congratulate the new officers and thank their families and supporters.

Award recipients for COTA Class 17–01 included: Kory Sandstedt, Top Gun Award; Sean O’Hare, Defensive Tactics Award; Marqui Murphy, Drill Instructors Award; Marcus Price, Physical Training Award; and Romara Pearsull, Unit Citation Award.

The other members of COTA Class 17–01 are: Nicholas Bearne, Patrice Constantin, Lisette Cordero, John Demore, Leroy Fernandes, Raul Garcia, Morris Keniston, Casey LaGrassa, Franklin Lemus-Pena, Brian Martin, Thomas Maguire, Sean McGuirl, Jonathan Mendez, James O’Doherty, Max Pacheco, Jeffrey Reale, Luis Rosado, Jose Teixeira, and John Vega.