Sheriff Tompkins, Department Hold Memorial Dedication Ceremony In Honor Of Fallen Officers

Sheriff Tompkins Attends Summer Camp Cultural Day In Chelsea
August 20, 2014
Sheriff Tompkins, Department Host Ceremony To Honor Sheriff’s Department Retirees
September 19, 2014
Show all

Sheriff Tompkins, Department Hold Memorial Dedication Ceremony In Honor Of Fallen Officers

September 12, 2014

CONTACT: Peter Van Delft
(617) 704-6682



Suffolk County Sheriff Steven W. Tompkins (third from left) stands with Special Sheriff and Nashua Street Jail Superintendent Eugene Sumpter (far left), House of Correction Superintendent Yolanda Smith, and Superintendent In-Chief Michael Harris as officer Martinez McNeil sings “Amazing Grace” during a memorial dedication to fallen officers.

Suffolk County Sheriff Steven W. Tompkins and the Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department recently held dual dedication ceremonies to unveil two new memorials at the Suffolk County House of Correction and the Nashua Street Jail.

The Fallen Officers Memorials were created to commemorate the lives of officers who died while employed at the Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department from the time of inception of the Department’s two facilities – the House of Correction (1991) and the Suffolk County Jail (or Nashua Street Jail – 1990) – to the present.

The ceremonies featured the presentation of the Colors from the Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department Honor Guard and the playing of Taps, a moment of silence for the fallen officers, and the singing of “Amazing Grace” by Officer Martinez McNeil.

At the beginning of the ceremony at the House of Correction, Superintendent Yolanda Smith welcomed guests and spoke about the positive nature of cherishing the memories of their loved ones.

“It is my hope that as we memorialize our loved ones, that we will have continued peace, understanding, and closure on our losses,” said Superintendent Smith. “There is a Hebrew proverb that I find appropriate for this ceremony: ‘Say not in grief he is no more, but live in thankfulness that he was.’”

Similarly, Superintendent and Special Sheriff Eugene Sumpter began the ceremony at the Nashua Street Jail by bringing emphasis to the officers’ contributions to the Department.

“The officers who will be unveiled on this monument have each contributed to the progress of this Department,” said Superintendent Sumpter. “The things we’re doing today are a direct result of some of the actions of these individuals.”

Offering his perspective about the difficult yet rewarding work that comes with being a corrections officer, Sheriff Tompkins later spoke about the significance of the ceremony and the legacy of the fallen officers.

“The sign of a vibrant community is how we care for the most compromised in that community, and these officers did their best to make sure that the folks here got the best care they possibly could,” said Sheriff Tompkins. “It is our pleasure to have a memorial that will be here until the end of days to acknowledge the fact that these fine officers really did answer the call to keep the citizens and residents of Suffolk County safe.”

“Please know that our hearts go out to the family members of the individuals that are no longer with us, and also please know that they will never, ever, be forgotten.”

Following remarks, the ceremonies concluded with the unveiling of the monuments, which bear the names of the fallen officers from both facilities and the inscription that reads: “In Honor Of Those Who Served.” Each ceremony welcomed family and friends of the fallen officers in addition to Sheriff’s Department employees who came to help celebrate the lives and legacies of the officers who died while serving Suffolk County.

Sheriff Tompkins and the Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department would like to recognize the following fallen officers:

  • Officer Thomas Cairns
  • Officer Gerardo Carrasquillo
  • Officer Richard Charboneau
  • Officer Gregory Christian
  • Officer Michael R. Coakley
  • Lieutenant Richard Cosgrove
  • Officer Robert Coughlin
  • Sergeant Richard Dever
  • Officer James Farricy, Jr.
  • Officer Steven Ficarra
  • Captain Timothy Fistori
  • Officer Joseph Freedman
  • Officer Thomas Gill
  • Officer Sean Gleeson
  • Corporal John Roche Jr.
  • Officer Dean Staunton
  • Lieutenant Kelly Torrejon
  • Officer Robert Ziminski
  • Officer Marquis Barker
  • Corporal Russell Chickering
  • Sergeant Christopher Collins
  • Corporal Nicola DiGironimo
  • Officer Guy Giardina
  • Officer Scott Hillman
  • Sergeant Benjamin Howard
  • Officer Christopher Lalone
  • Officer Edward Lukas
  • Captain Anthony Milano
  • Captain Dennis Morelli


| return to Press Release index |