scscdma logo
faq | careers | contact | links | PREA

May 23, 2008

CONTACT: Peter Van Delft
(617) 961-6682


Thirty–two new Correction Officers were brought online at the Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department during a recent graduation ceremony held at the Back Bay Hilton in Boston.

The Correction Officer Training Academy class 08–01 was given the Correction Officer’s Oath by Suffolk County Sheriff Andrea J. Cabral, who welcomed this group as the thirteenth class of officers to graduate under her leadership.

“I want to thank the friends and family of our recruits for their continued support,” said Sheriff Cabral. “It is an important role that you serve.”

Speaking about the high caliber of instruction that the officers receive from the talented and committed members of the training division, Sheriff Cabral continued, saying, “With the outstanding training that they’ve received, they’re coming to work from a position of strength and knowledge. They are ready emotionally, physically, and intellectually to do the job.”

Adding to the concept of the officer as a complete individual in both mind and body, Assistant Deputy Superintendent and Supervisor of Training Yolanda Smith praised the new graduates.

“Some people talk about having great ideas, but it takes great minds to bring those ideas to fruition,” said ADS Smith. “I’ve seen the sometimes confused, uncertain looks from the first days of training academy replaced by confidence and displays of leadership.”

Lieutenant Thomas Robinson of the SCSD training division concurred.

“Each of you has excelled in your own way during the training academy. I want to congratulate you, Class 08–01.”

Nominated by his training academy peers as the President of Class 08–01, Officer Michael Bobulis offered his perspective about leaving the training academy and entering the Department.

“We made it through together, and now we have a brotherhood that was borne out of hardship,” Bobulis said. “Each challenge that we faced was a building block for the foundation we needed to become officers.”

“I want to thank Sheriff Cabral and the training staff,” Bobulis continued. “You have given us everything that we need to go down the right path. Now, as I look back, I feel proud – proud of all of us”

Receiving special recognition during the award ceremony were Officer David Bindoo, who won both the Top Gun Award and the Academic Award; Officer Joseph Fiorini, who was given the Physical Training Award; Officer Andrew Jeffery, who received the Unit Citation Award; and Officer Nicholas Fabrizio who won the Drill Instructor’s Award.

The additional twenty–seven new officers are: Richard Bloom, Michael Brennan, Scott Bruce, Mark Cikacz, Ryan Clark, Ryan Cleary, Daniel D'Amico, Felismino Fernandes, Robert Flynn, Andrew Gallivan, Michael Hackley, David Hardie, Michael Hill, Edward Lukas, Gregory Mailloux, Jonathan Mannion, Brett Martin, Dana Morse, John Murphy, Matthew Murray, Christopher Robinson, Michaelangelo Russo, Calvin Sanders, Mario Soares, Frank Sparacino, Traci Stewart, and March Subjects.

| return to Press Release index |

© 2003 - 2015 Suffolk County Sheriff's Department. All rights reserved.