scscdma logo
faq | careers | contact | links | PREA

July 27, 2007

CONTACT: Steve Tompkins
(617) 961-6650


The Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department welcomed twenty–five new Correction Officers into the fold during a graduation ceremony this past Friday.

Held at the Back Bay Hilton in Boston, Class 07–01 was sworn–in by Special Sheriff Gerard Horgan who presided over the ceremony marking the Department’s twelfth class to graduate under the leadership of Sheriff Andrea J. Cabral.

“Corrections officers are the unsung arm of law enforcement,” Special Sheriff Horgan said as he addressed the graduates, along with assembled staff and family. “We wish you well in this noble profession that you have chosen. Congratulations to you all and I wish you well in the Department.”

Horgan also prompted the new officers to stand and thank the many family members and friends for the support they received as they forged through the rigorous twelve–week academy training.

Also congratulating Class 07–01 was Assistant Deputy Superintendent Yolanda Smith, who went on to commend the graduates for their perseverance and commitment to each other throughout the process.

“The training was challenging in so many different ways,” said ADS Smith. “You’ve experienced quite a bit of intensity but you embraced the concept of teamwork rather quickly. It reminds me of a statement made to me by one of the graduates, that ‘A class lacking unity is a class drowning in mediocrity.’ I want to wish you all success as you face your new challenges together.”

After a short video and slide presentation by training instructor Corporal Dan Hickey, awards were presented to members of the class recognized for their outstanding efforts during the training process.

“Twelve weeks ago, you started the training academy as twenty–five individuals, but you’re leaving this ceremony as a unit,” training staff member Lieutenant Thomas Robinson said before the presentation of awards. “You should be truly proud of yourselves.”

Earning special recognition for achievement during the Department’s rigorous training were Dorchester’s Jawara Moseley who was given the Academic Citation Award; Kevin McDonnell, who won the Academic Award; Justin Dymon, who took home the award for Physical Training; Bandith Udomsay, who garnered the prize for Defensive Tactics; Adam Vecchione, who received the Drill Instructor Award; and William Farrell, who took Top Gun Award honors.

The nineteen remaining officers joining the ranks of officers with their six fellow graduates at the South Bay House of Correction are: Jason Beausoleil, Michael Benner, James Campbell, Joseph Cataldo, Jeffrey Donovan, Michael Eed, Jorge Flores, William Gubnitsky, Christopher Gustafson, Christopher Hayes, Cliff Hyppolite, Joseph Lee, Edward Medeiros, Emanuel O’Neill, Platini Otabor, Justin Ramstine, Elizabeth Salamone, Ryan Walsh, and Robert Ziminski.

| return to Press Release index |

© 2003 - 2015 Suffolk County Sheriff's Department. All rights reserved.