scscdma logo
faq | careers | contact | links | PREA

February 7, 2006

CONTACT: Steve Tompkins
Emily Shortt
(617) 961-6682


Boston – Eighteen new correction officers joined the ranks of the Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department, Friday February 3, in the ninth Correction Officer Training Academy graduation since Sheriff Andrea J. Cabral took office in 2002. The three women and fifteen men were selected from nearly three hundred applicants and are among the most highly trained officers the Sheriff’s Department has seen.

Sheriff Cabral, the keynote speaker, opened by thanking her dedicated training staff and the family and friends of the graduates.

“Without your support,” she told the guests in attendance, “this would not be possible.”

Sheriff Cabral continued by explaining that the role of correction officers is changing and now requires both discipline and compassion.

“Correction officers are not only charged with the safety and security of those in custody, but provide counseling, education, training, and mentoring.”

Sarah Benoit, the first female cadet to become Correction Officer Training Academy Class President, also addressed the class and guests. As one of three cadets in the class who has served in the armed forces, she believed her time at the training academy would be easy in comparison to her time spent in Afghanistan.

“I found out quickly that I was wrong,” she said with a smile.

Following Benoit’s speech, Sheriff Cabral led the class in the Correction Officer’s Oath and presented certificates and badges to the new officers with Academy Director Lieutenant Keith Medeiros. The graduates of Correction Officer Training Academy Class 05-04 will now begin work at either the South Bay House of Correction or the Nashua Street Jail.

“This marks the end of a rigorous training program,” Sergeant Thomas Robinson, Assistant Academy Director, told the group, “and the beginning of a rewarding career.”

C.O.T.A. Class 05-04
Denise Argiro * Stephen Arzigian * Sarah Benoit * Breneley Bodden * Abel Cuevas * Chris Dias * Michael Dion * Thomas DiPietro * Matt Durand * Kevin Laverty * James Maggio * James McGlauaghlin * Kristine Murphy * Alexander Santarelli * Kevin Sleight * Tony Sostre * Francesco Torra * Alfred Trinh

| return to Press Release index |

© 2003 - 2015 Suffolk County Sheriff's Department. All rights reserved.