scscdma logo
faq | careers | contact | links | PREA

January 9, 2004

CONTACT: Steve Tompkins
(617) 989-6650
cell: (617) 828-5134


Suffolk County Sheriff Andrea J. Cabral told the graduating class of the Suffolk County Correction Officer Training Academy that they are "among the best-trained corrections officers in the Commonwealth," as she gave the oath to 15 recruits Friday at Boston University’s Morse Auditorium.

The Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department conducted its second Academy graduation since Sheriff Cabral took office in November 2002.

"It is my goal to continue to raise the standards of training and professionalism in the corrections industry," she said. "The role of a correction officer is often misunderstood and certainly undervalued. Officers are not only charged with the safety and security of those in custody, but provide counseling, education, training and mentoring. It’s a profession that requires both discipline and compassion. This is a challenging and rewarding career if you commit yourselves to being the best you can be."

The Training Academy is a five-week intensive program for new recruits joining the Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department as correction officers. The recruits underwent 225 hours of physical training and classroom instruction on policies, procedures and emergency response.

The 15 graduates are: Julie Bickford, Edwige Bourgogne, Jason Campbell, Derek Cherven, Juan Diaz, Lauren Donovan, Jon-Richard Gibson, Mark Hollien, Todd Howell, Kim McDonald, David Priest, Scott Saunders, Derek Trainor, Steven Varney and Scott Walker.

Class president was Juan Diaz, vice-president Derek Cherven, treasurer Julie Bickford and Class Leader Jon-Richard Gibson.

The graduates will be assigned to either the House of Correction in South Bay or the Suffolk County Jail on Nashua Street.

(Note to editors: Graduation is 6 p.m. Digital photos will be available upon request. Please call 617.989.6672 or email Richard Lombardi).

| return to Press Release index |

© 2003 - 2015 Suffolk County Sheriff's Department. All rights reserved.